Graduate studies in US after 8 years work experience in Industry

spiralarchitect

I have around 8 years of work experience. After this stage, the possible step is to go along management track. But, I am neither interested nor it appeals me. Thinking more on this, I have decided to go and study in university. Preferably extensive study like a PhD or worst case masters degree.

My GRE and acads are not so strong as well. GRE - 1100 with 770 in math and 3.0GPA/4.0. My experience includes companies like amazon, zynga. No research experience whatsoever. Am I a good candidate for PhD or masters with research? My primary interests are in computer graphics or applied mathematics in simulation/visualization.

What do you guys suggest me to do? I am aiming for top 20, but not sure if it will be right thing to do.

For a PhD program, research experience is the #1 thing admissions committees are looking for. With your GPA and GRE scores not being particularly stunning, and with no research experience, aiming for the top 20 may be a bit of a reach.

That said, industry experience helps very much! Schools like students who can solve a myriad of problems, which is something you'll learn quickly in industry.

I think you should set you sets on, say, top 50. Look around at schools in that range and see what fits your interest the best.

Also, if you have not taken the GRE within the last 5 years, you will have to take it again. 

For a PhD program, research experience is the #1 thing admissions committees are looking for. With your GPA and GRE scores not being particularly stunning, and with no research experience, aiming for the top 20 may be a bit of a reach.

That said, industry experience helps very much! Schools like students who can solve a myriad of problems, which is something you'll learn quickly in industry.

I think you should set you sets on, say, top 50. Look around at schools in that range and see what fits your interest the best.