Education policy grad programs and careers

SkyGuy_Ritchie

Hi, this is my first time posting, so I am a little unsure how this works, but I wanted to share a little bit about my background and career interests and then ask about how they might align with various graduate programs.

First, my background: I graduated two years ago with a BA in Liberal Arts and since then have been teaching math and humanities classes at a charter school. While in college I earned relatively good grades (3.55 GPA), got to know several of my professors personally, and volunteered to tutor with Breakthrough Collaborative and to mentor students through the In2Books online pen-pal program. Since becoming a teacher I have taught an 11th grade seminar-style humanities class, 8th grade Algebra II, 9th grade Geometry, and (most recently) a 9th grade Exeter math class.

The Exeter class offers a radically different approach to mathematics. The curriculum, borrowed from Phillips Exeter Academy, is based on a scaffolded set of word problems that covers everything from Algebra I to BC Calculus. The problems are not broken up into chapters and lessons, and there is little in the way of direct instruction. Students come to class having worked on 4-6 homework problems, discuss their work in small groups, and then present it to their classmates while the teacher provides support and helps students generalize their findings from the particular problems.

As you might expect, the Exeter approach has been met with a great deal of skepticism and resistance. Parents want to know whether it has been successful at other schools that have adopted it and even if it has whether it can be successfully replicated at our school: they want to see scientific studies of its effectiveness that (to my knowledge) have not yet been done. Their questions, however, have gotten me interested in researching the effectiveness of this and other educational programs and methods.

So I guess my questions are as follows: