I'm a grad student, longterm SO is not...

Anyone else have this problem/issue/situation?

I guess it is not so much of a problem as it was.  Anyway, I met my boyfriend back when I was an undergrad, and we get a long so well in so many aspects.  We've been dating now for four years and are serious, but because of certain circumstances *Ahem*, I don't see us planning a wedding in the near (4 years or less) future.  And as more and more fellow classmates are getting engaged and married, it becomes more and more brought up.

While I finished my undergrad in 4 years (consequetively) and, after a 2 year break, went onto now grad school (which I plan to finish in 2 years), my boyfriend, Brian, chose a different path.  He went to undergrad college for a year and a half, partied too much and failed out, and then decided he just wanted to jump into working instead.  After about 3 years of doing different starting jobs, he decided (and after much persuasion from me), to go back to finish school for at least an associates degree.  Well, he discovered he has a hard time with school, and after not doing well for the next couple of semesters, he finally got some help with a psychiatrist to work on strategies to help him do well in school (I think he just has ADHD and needs help learning better... no biggie).  Well now he plans on going back with his new-found skills, and now I am in grad school.  So finally we both are steered in the right (career-wise) direction... 

But now, after wasting (ok learning, but from an academic standard, wasting) all that time, it seems that Brian won't catch up to be able to start on a career at the same rate that I will.  It is hard to plan and be serious together about settling down when the career ladders between us don't match up at the same time.  And I know I cannot support the both of us with even any beginner salary after grad school in time for him to catch up.  Ugh frustrating.

Here's my situation-