Prospective Ed.D

Functionality

Hello everyone,

I am planning to work as a school administrator at the community college level, so I would love to hear any piece of advice that you are able to offer. A little bit about me: I graduated from U.C. Berkeley as a Political Science major with two minors in Public Policy and Education. I am currently working on my Master's in Political Science at CSU Long Beach to hopefully teach at a community college as a Political Science professor. After teaching for a few years, I am hoping to use my experience as a professor to apply to an Ed.D program in order to work as a community college administrator. I don't have any experience in teaching, so I'm hoping to work on that by teaching at a community college after I complete my Master's degree in Political Science.

What are the job prospects of actually becoming a college administrator after completing an Ed.D program? Do any of you have any words of wisdom to pass on to me?

Thanks!

Edited by Functionality

Re CC teaching with only a master's in a field like poli sci: not so easy.  There is such a flood of unemployed (and underemployed) PhDs that master's level folks are often crowded out.  I think you'd be looking at adjunct-ing at best, but there's no guarantee of that.

When you say "CC administrator," what kinds of roles are you envisioning?  That might help determine what training would be most appropriate.

I am envisioning a role in administration such as a dean, vice president, or president of a community college. I'm trying to figure out how I would be able to make myself competitive enough for an Ed.D program. I am stuck on how I am able to be accepted into an Ed.D program if I am unable to find a job after my Master's. 

Any further advice is appreciated. Thank you!

Edited by Functionality