Need some advice(Ph.d profile eval/gre score selection)

HappyGen

Hello. I am an international student and I am considering to apply to Statistics PhD programs this year(unfortunately I don't think I can do MS degree first because of my situation...I really want to do though). I'd like to get some feedback on my chances. Also I'd like to ask

which GRE scores would be better for me. Any reply will be welcomed!

Here is some information about me...

Undergrad: Majored in applied statistics.

- GPA: 3.99/4.00(graduated at the head of my department) from one of the top schools in my home country.

Some undergrad classes:

Math: Calculus /linear algbea/ Discrete math/ Differential Eq/ Analysis(Rudin)/ Mathematical Statistics(Hogg)

Stat: Regression/ Sampling theory/ Nonparametric stat/ Stochastic Process/ Time Series/ Bayesian stat/ Categorical Data analysis(Logistic Regression)/ Experimental Design

GRE: Which one would be better?

V: 169/ Q:166/ AW: 3.5 vs. V: 157/ Q:170/ AW: 3.5

I am thinking about going with the first one because I have much better verbal score. However I am worried about that relatively low quant score might bring some concerns about my math ability...

I didn't take GRE Math Subject test...

Experience: 2 year job experience.  usually worked with time series data

Recommendations: three stat professors probably not well- known. But I expect quite strong recommendation letters

Lists in mind:

UW/ Berkeley/ CMU/ Duke/ UNC/ NCSU/ Upenn/ Penn State/ Cornell/ Iowa state or U of Iowa/ Emory/ OSU/ Rutgers or Texas A&M Univ/

Would I have any shots on these schools? 

Also I am interested in time series or bayesian statistics. I will be really grateful if you could mention some other universities I might need to consider.

I really appreciate any help. Thanks so much in advance!

Edited by HappyGen