Advisor Trash Talking Other Professor...

Sarah1983

I'm here for some at least sort of anonymous advice about a situation with my advisor. I'm a first year doctoral student and went to meet with my advisor for the first time last week. We chatted a bit about coursework, potential thesis topics, etc. Then she asked me what courses I was taking. One of those is with a professor that came highly recommended by professors at my previous institution, a fairly big name in my major field.

I told my advisor I was taking the course and she immediately burst into a tirade about how much she hates this professor, he's a terrible person, and he has terrible attitudes towards women. She even offered to get coffee with me so we could trash talk this professor if I realized how terrible he was. All the while her office door is wide open. I was...surprised and speechless. I just kind of mumbled something about how there didn't seem to be a book about gender on the reading list and booked it out of there.

Now I've heard the complaint that the professor I'm taking the course with is critical of feminist scholarship and my advisor has a heavy emphasis on gender in her work. So it seems there is an intellectual disagreement between the two which is fine and even healthy. My work tends more toward the style of the despised professor but I feel it could benefit from incorporating scholarship on gender. But her tirade struck me as incredibly unprofessional and put me in an awkward position particulary given the power arrangement. I am not my advisors equal in the department and sat through a week of orientations saying to not gossip and particularly not to gossip on the department floor where others could overhear. My concern is not so much her complaints about this particular professor...my bigger concern is that this will become a pattern. Or that she would run her mouth if not happy with me.