Advice for Suitable Programs

Hello everyone! First I just want to say thank you very much for all your help. It's my first time applying and I was able to find a lot of helpful information here as well as great answers to my questions from a very supportive community. Now I'm finalizing the list of all the programs I'm applying too, and I would really appreciate it if you can take a look and see if I should add or remove anything.

My areas of interest are Media Effects, Entertainment Studies and Emerging Media. My undergrad research project examined traditional and reversed gender stereotypes in TV sitcoms from 1950s to now, so I am a bit more familiar with stereotypes in the media, humor theories and gender issues. Recently I have become more and more interested in Emerging Media with topics such as identity or self-image cultivated through social networks and the education-entertainment values of educational channels on YouTube. 

So the programs currently in my list are:

The Annenberg schools (USC & U Penn)

Penn State

U of Michigan, Ann Arbor

UC Santa Barbara

U of Wisconsin, Madison

U of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Ohio State

I'm thinking a total of 7-10 programs would be manageable, but please correct me if I'm wrong here. Thank you in advance for all your help!

I think that list looks pretty good and fairly balanced, though I don't know that there is a 100% "safe" school in there; that isn't always a bad thing though, since sometimes a 100% safe school is safe because it's not good, lol.

Like JLRC, I don't really believe in so called "safe schools" because why would you want to go to a school you don't really want to go to for 4-6 years? 

I think your list makes sense. Your interests are usually represented among pretty much any faculty, I think but, of course, there are differences in the more refined nuances and also in the quality (or maybe rather in the reputation).