A Master's Degree in Religion

Hi, everyone:

I have an M.Div. from Vanderbilt and was wondering if this would be a hindrance to an application towards a doctoral program in English literature. My theological education has certainly shaped my approach to many things, including literature, but I'm wondering if this will make me a throwaway candidate or an interesting one.

I studied religion because I was interested in the intersection between religion and gender/sexuality. I think in many senses literature offers more freedom to wrestle with those issues, though, and so thought I'd apply to study queer memoirs. Jeanette Winterson's Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit in particular is a favorite read of mine and her companion piece, Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?, which both deal with the coming out story of someone in the midst of an oppressive religious atmosphere. I'm also wondering if it would be easier to achieve a space in a PhD program if I proposed study in nonfiction vs fiction.

Thanks for any and all feedback.

What is your undergrad degree in? I ask because an M.Div won't necessarily be a problem-- in fact, it could be an asset depending on the program and how you frame the experience; however, if you have only taken one or two English courses in your entire academic career, I'd imagine that could be a setback. 

My undergraduate majors were in English, writing, philosophy and religion (just couldn't choose so I did them all). I had mostly Brit lit classes with an American lit, transcendental, Mark Twain, sci fi/fantasy, editing/publishing and four writing classes.

I'd definitely swing in favor of Brit lit though I'm a lover of Michael Cunningham who's done some fabulous LGBTQ stuff as well.

Most department sites clarify that they do not require an English degree, just a significant number of English courses. (Frequently these two things overlap, but not always!)