MSW - How do I prepare myself?

Hi everyone!

I'm currently a junior (actually, I'm a sophomore, but I'm only like 4 credits from being a junior due to credit articulation when I transferred) and my major is Psychology with a minor in Sociology. I was really interested in pursuing a PhD in either Clinical or Counseling Psychology, but I've been recently looking into pursuing my MSW because of its versatility. I'd be concentrating in Mental Health/Counseling for my MSW. Furthermore after obtaining my MSW, I hope to take the LCSW exam in order to practice.

Now, the question is: where do I start? I've been in academic/research mode, so I'm new to the MSW realm. As of now, I don't really have relevant work experience that pertains to Social Work or Mental Health because I was previously a film major. But I'm looking to get on it very soon! I'm planning to get involved on-campus with Social Behavior research, so I hope that's a good start. I'm also going to visit my university's health center to look for any volunteering opportunities.

Right now, my GPA is a 3.5 (it used to be a 3.7 at my previous school...i know, but I made a huge jump-as far as prestige goes). My grades for this semester will probably result around a 3.2-3.5 GPA. Will one "off" semester have a huge impact on me? It's just that I've been working two part-time jobs to pay off my rent, and on top of that commuting and taking on school work as a full-time student. It's getting really hard, but I'm starting to become better at managing my time. However, I know I can graduate with at least a 3.5, and I have about two more years to do it. How important are grades for MSW programs? I really do hope to stay in either California or New York because that's where family's at.