Special Education

Ciarrai300

I have a deferred acceptance to Uoregon I'm trying to decide on... I have my masters so would be doing a phd.  Funding didn't come through in time for me last spring so I accepted a teaching job for this year.  Now I have to figure out which direction to go...

There's funding... if you look at their webpage they have a short description of their LINKS funding that is new this year.  Looks like a great package and there's room for 6.  They also have other leadership grants, and GTF funding that is pretty good.  I did my undergrad at UO, then my masters/licensure at Pacific University.  I'll look through my email form last year to see how many were accepted in the first round.  I turned in a late application and was accepted off the waitlist.

eta:  nevermind, I don't know how many were initially accepted. I know that by March 4 they had 5 people accept the offer, and that "they hadn't heard from others..." I was offered my spot April 15, but with no funding guarantee because their leadership grants were already given out.

Edited by misskira

I say if you can get the funding go for it!  In my experience it isn't too difficult to find a sped teaching position so if you enter the PhD program and decide that it isn't the route for you it shouldn't be too difficult to get back into teaching.  On the other hand, if you pass up on your acceptance this time around you'll have to start from scratch again if you decide you want to go for your PhD later. 

I say if you can get the funding go for it!  In my experience it isn't too difficult to find a sped teaching position so if you enter the PhD program and decide that it isn't the route for you it shouldn't be too difficult to get back into teaching.  On the other hand, if you pass up on your acceptance this time around you'll have to start from scratch again if you decide you want to go for your PhD later.