International Student Funding Question

Eternal Optimist

I am an international student applying to PhD programs in English Literature. All the programs I am applying to are fully funded.

One of my mom's friends had informed her that even if you are fully funded you would have to deposit about $25, 000 as collateral in a U.S. bank.

My understanding is that in order to obtain I-20 that is important to apply for my Visa, I need to show that I have enough funds to cover my first year expenses.And this can be done by showing proof of funding and some personal funds to cover university fee, part of health insurance etc.

Could someone clarify if my understanding is correct or if I need to deposit a huge sum as collateral even if I am funded? All the programs I am applying offer with 100 percent tuition remission and stipend. What would be the point of a fully funded course if I would have to keep $25, 000 locked-in as a collateral?

Thanks for taking the time to respond to my question.

I don't know where your mother's friend got their information but it's completely wrong, unless something drastic has changed in the US immigration procedures in the past few years. Your I-20 is issued once you show that you have sufficient funding to pay for your degree, and the department's guarantee to fund you is all you need for that. With the I-20 you go to the embassy to get a student visa issued, and there again you just need to show that your department will fund you and you should be fine. In all likelihood no one will even ask, because it's already written in your I-20. I have no idea why you were told you need to deposit any kind of collateral in a US bank. Those are private institutions anyway, and they have nothing to do with federal immigration regulations.