SOP revision - MA History

Hi all,

Yesterday I finished up a rough draft for my statement of purpose and was wondering if anyone would mind looking it over and offer tips on improvement, what should be taken out, what should be put in, yada yada yada. I'll just post it in this thread so whoever wants to look it over can do it right here. Thanks!

When I was a student at [redacted] High School in [redacted], I had a European history teacher named [redacted].  There was a general consensus among many of my fellow students that he was by far the best teacher the school had to offer.  His love and passion for his field of study was immediately recognizable, and the way he ensured that every student had accomplished something was inspiring.  During my senior year, I took AP European History with him, and from the moment we began to cover the Renaissance, I knew that the study of Europe was the profession I was to pursue.

Since the fall of 2010, I have studied history at the [redacted].  For all of the recognition the school receives for its engineering and nursing programs, the department that goes the most overlooked is the history department.  After taking various classes with various professors, I can say with absolute certainty that there was no class which I did not enjoy, and each professor has been nothing short of welcoming and understanding, regardless of whether you are a freshman on your first day or a senior on your last.

While I wrestled with the idea of entering the field of education after graduation, I realized that research was a much more fulfilling calling after I took my capstone seminar on fascism and totalitarianism.   The sense of accomplishment that I received upon completing my research paper (see writing sample) and earning high praise was a feeling like none other.  For this reason, I chose to pursue that passion of research in hopes that I may display the same passion to others that endeared me to history in the first place.