another LOR from a professor or are PhDs outside academia all right?

clurp

I'm applying for stats PhDs and I'm having some last minute second thoughts about how I've chosen my 3 recommenders. 

A little background: 

• I did math as an undergraduate (I had a > 3.7 GPA at a 'top 20' university, with math grades ranging from B to A+)  
  • I took a pretty tough schedule with a lot of upper division and graduate courses, and I participated in two summer research projects. 
  • I studied for an applied math masters in Europe for a year.
  • During that year, I took a sequence of courses there that got me interested in statistics.
  • The summer after the first year there, I got a job at a startup doing statistics and machine learning.
  • I liked the job a lot and knew that I ultimately wanted to do a stat PhD, so I stayed beyond the summer and did not finish the masters.

For letters of recommendation, I asked one professor that I knew quite well from coursework and summer research at my undergrad school, and I asked two PhDs (one in math, one in statistics, both from very good schools) that I work with at my current job. One has published in reputable math and stats journals and was a university instructor before his career doing quantitative research in industry. The other has published some as well, but I know less about that. The idea was that I wanted to ask the people who know me well, that I wanted to try to highlight the work I had done recently  rather than 3 or more years ago, and that it's ok to have non-academic recommenders if they have PhDs and work in research.

Am I wrong on that last point?