Is my discipline compatible?

canklean

Hello everyone, I'll cut to the chase, I'm currently a grad student getting an MA in Anthropology (Environmental Anthro focus) and a Graduate Certificate in GIS. I'm especially interested in coastal adaptation to climate change, especially among port cities in North America. 

I really do like anthropology, but I'm noticing that geographers tend to focus more on what I'm interested in. I'm more interested in how people behave as a collective in relation to their environment. I've looked at some research by geographers and it is easily something I could see myself doing. Even my anthro advisor thinks I should be doing human geography. 

My question is, with an MA in Anthro and a cert. in GIS, will there be enough overlap for me to transition into a PhD program smoothly, or would I have to start over from scratch?

Thanks for all your advice

I would say, absolutely. Many of my professors who are geographers started in other disciplines (political science, history, economics, and engineering, specifically). That's the wonderful thing about geography: it is EXTREMELY interdisciplinary and welcoming of people with other backgrounds.

I'm not the best person to answer your question, as I'm not a geographer myself (yet :D). However, I would quite confidently second what Paolaplease wrote - your background in anthropology sounds very adequate, and the GIS certificate definitely doesn't hurt.

I'm actually in a similar situation with you, as I aspire to transition into geography; however, my background is in interdisciplinary ecology. When I first started to research PhD programs, I was looking into the programs in my own field before realising that professors in geography were doing research that much more closely matched my research interests (human-environment interactions in the context of environmental change, and climate change adaptation).