How much did you improve on 2nd attempt?

md152

How much did you study, how long did you wait and how much did you improve?

I took the test without studying, did OK and am trying to decide if I should retake it. I would have two weeks to study( no classes or works irony this time).

My verbal and writing scores are just over 80th percentile but my quant is just over 50th.

I'm applying to geology gradschools (non quant intensive programs)

I studied for less than 3 hours a few days before the test the second time and improved my score by a total of 9 points. The first time I hadn't slept the night before or eaten anything that day (It was finals week, bad decision, I know). I'm a person who has a slow cautious style of learning, so the quant section was my biggest challenge. I don't like to go fast with math, but I'm definitely not bad at it. Still, raised the quant score by 3 points, the verbal by 6, and my AW stayed the same (though it was already a 5 from the first test).

I first took the GRE without studying. This was a long time ago ('94), when it was paper based and the analytic section was logic problems instead of writing. Verbal: 99th percentile. Quantitative: something in the low 50s, between 52nd and 55th percentile.

When I retook it in 2009, I studied for two weeks ahead of time. V: 99th. Q: 69th (a 700 on the 800 scale). If I'd known ahead of time how straightforward the Q section is (i.e. it doesn't require any super-advanced math I'd never had, just a good grasp of arithmetic, geometry, and basic probability,) I would have started earlier and could have brought it up much higher. At any rate, though, the difference between a percentile in the low 50s and a score of 700 out of 800...that's probably going to be the difference between admission and rejection for me in some of my applications. So, yes, you can definitely bring your score up in two weeks!