Dual Authorship - Literature paper

I am currently in the process of applying for graduate programs in East Asian Studies in the U.S. and as such I wrote a new writing sample for my application (on a Japanese short story). Also, I am currently a student at a Japanese university. One of my letter writers reviewed the sample and gave some good remarks about it.

Last night, I met with him and he asked if I had considered trying to get the writing sample published. I had not even considered this, but he said that if I was interested in having it published in Japan he was pretty certain that it could happen. He said there were two places that I could decide to have it published, one is the University's bulletin and as he is a member of the faculty/review committee he was certain it would get published. The other was a peer-reviewed cultural studies journal in Japan. 

I was rather excited by the notion, but there was a catch - I would have to share authorship on the paper with him. The reason is that for for the university bulletin, only faculty can publish in it. For the peer-reviewed journal, you have to be a member of the association and it would cost like $700 to publish in it (though he said he would use his research funds from the school to cover all this). This peer-reviewed journal is the one I was more interested in.

Thus, regardless of which publication I would choose to go with, both our names would be attached to the article. I would of course be first author. 

My question is: is dual authorship something you see in the humanities or it is to be avoided? I know with STEM stuff it is common, but I don't recall seeing it before in my research. I like the idea of having something published before I enter school and it seems pretty much guaranteed it would happen. However, I wonder if having the article published as such would be a benefit or not.