UNCCH / Duke

bethanygm

I am just beginning to look into grad school. I want a PhD in History. I will probably be graduating college (from Hawaii Pacific University) with a 3.6-3.7 GPA (due to a bad term when I thought I would major in biochemistry, haha), 4.0 in major classes. I had somewhere between a 3.15-3.5 in community college for my first 30 credits- does this matter? My husband is getting out of the Navy and I will probably want to start Grad School around Fall 2011 (I know.. far away, right?)

I need some guidance on what to do from here.

We would really like to move to North Carolina..My husband is majoring in Computer Science and the Raleigh area is good for what he wants to do, and we both think it is really nice.

I want to apply to Duke and UNCCH, but I know they are highly selective and I don't know how to go about making my application something that stands out. I did really well on the verbal part of my SATs 750 (on old SAT- 2003)... only 500 in Math because I had only taken a little bit of Algebra and basically knew nothing. I have faith in my ability do well on verbal for the GRE.. I will need to really study for the Quantitative part, but I think I can score above a 600.