2.5 GPA in Math, Lousy GRE, want Masters in CS

absracto

I got a bachelors in Math from a good UC school in 1999 and have been working as a professional programmer ever since.

Unfortunately, my upper division major classes GPA was a 2.5, the absolute minimum needed to graduate. To make things worse I pretty much bombed the Math section of the GRE.

My goal: I want to get a Master's in CS. Part of it for enhancing my career, and the other part for when the day comes that I'm too old to be a programmer, I can teach CS in a university. That seems a lot better than trying to take a management/executive track, since I dislike that stuff.

I realize I'm in no shape to apply to any decent grad school with my current academic record. But, now I have a plan! (watch out people, he's got a plan)

Actually, before going any further .. if you are reading this and thinking to yourself "Hmm, I know what I'd do in that situation", please post it before having your thoughts skewed by my plan.

So, uh, here's my plan: I'm gonna RAISE my GPA by taking more undergraduate courses, and get it as close to a 3.0 as I can (the grad school I'm currently aiming for, UCSC, requires a 3.0 minimum). I will take undergrad CS courses, and am confident I will do very well since I'm a professional programmer and I already have a good feel for the material.

Either I'd take these courses outside of any degree program, and just "average them in" to my first degree. Or, possibly do a complete 2nd undergraduate degree. Depends on:

* Can undergrad classes taken after a completed degree, in a different but highly related subject, just be "averaged in" to raise the GPA of the first degree? Does it really depend on the admissions officer how they will subjectively treat it?

* If I did a 2nd undergrad degree, could a I use classes from my 1st degree to satisfy pre-reqs and avoid re-taking certain classes? (I guess I should just ask the prospective schools)