Feedback on work and statement

kierstin

Due dates are approaching really quickly and I'm rushing to get everything together.  I was hoping you friendly people might offer some constructive criticism of my portfolio and statement as they exist right now.  I'm applying to sculpture programs at SAIC, UT Austin, Carnegie Mellon, Northwestern, VCU, Mason Gross, and possibly UCLA.  I've been out of school (Tyler) since 2012 and this is my first time applying.  I have no idea of my chances. 

You can see my work here: kierstinsiegl.com

Statement

It is helpful for me to think of my sculptural practice as the construction of a piece of literature, striking some balance between poetry, fiction, formula and history. This framework allows for problems of language, meaning and value to be confronted through the symbolic system within which they are embedded. There is very little text present in my work, but each object and physical process maintains linguistic qualities which overlap to create a larger linguistic structure. My fascination with the way symbols shift and evolve in a given culture comes primarily from a deep interest in the way meaning is established and conveyed -- how information is internalized, ideas grow, and belief is cultivated.