Preparing to apply to Ph.D programs

luneaty

So as the title implies, I'm beginning to prepare to apply for a Ph.D program in history. I'm not actually planning on applying for a couple of years, but considering that most reputable programs are quite competitive, I'm looking to do whatever I can in the meantime to increase my chances.

I graduated this past year with a B.A. in History and a B.S. in Education from a state school. I graduated magna cum laude with a 3.791 GPA. Member of Phi Alpha Theta (history honors), ran three campus organizations, multiple on-campus jobs (including "real" ones) etc.

I was accepted into Teach For America, currently teaching 8th grade US history in a low-income community. I'm planning on finishing my corps term here and completing an additional year before going back to grad school.

I'm looking to study 19th century Russian history for my doctorate. I'm currently tossing around a few potential dissertation topics (Circassian genocide, Caucasian War, comparative imperialism). I did a decent amount of research in this area during my undergrad, and presented at local, regional, and even one national conference. I've been keeping in contact with my European history professor and a few others in the department.

Ultimately, I'm trying to see what I can do to improve my chances of admission into solid programs. While I believe that my grades and campus record are solid, I'm hoping that the lack of a "prestigious" undergrad institution on my transcript won't hinder any chances. Here are some things I'm doing to prepare:

- Learning Russian. I already speak/read fluent French and can get around in Spanish. I'm planning on taking Russian courses at a local community college beginning this summer, but I've begun on the basics of the language.
- Continuing research. I've got a decent library of Russian history titles going, and I've been trying to narrow my focus within the realm of 19th century Russian history.