MFA Graphic Design Programs

junicorn

Hey guys,

I'm applying to 3-year Graphic Design programs.. 

Coming from a background in Art History, I'm pretty new to this field.

I was wondering if anyone could tell me what any of these schools are like? 

Yale

RISD

Art Center

CalArts

MICA

SVA

California College of the Arts

I'm least familiar with CalArts and MICA. All I know is that CalArts is a very small school founded by Walt Disney and that Ellen Lupton teaches at MICA and MICA has a bigger focus on print design than other schools.

If anyone has anything to add to any school on this list, it'd really help me get a better idea and narrow down my list.

Thanks so much! 

Hello junicorn,

It seems as though you've selected some of the "brand name," private-school MFA programs. Are you aware that there are plenty of public universities, some with excellent funding, that have 3-year graphic design programs for those without a formal design background? UWashington and ASU come to mind, as well as Carnegie Mellon and NCSU (I think). Some of these have programs that seem very solid and worth your time and money. Some do not.

Unfortunately, none of us can really tell you what these programs are "like," as we don't know what you want to know. The best advice I can give you is to look through each department's website as throughly as possible--which includes seeing what kind of work students are currently doing, as well as tracking down the sites of alumni and seeing their current work and employment. That's the only way you'll be able to get sort of intuitive feel for what each department is up to. Of course, "lurking" on forums devoted to design and design education, such as this one and Core77, is also a good way to do research.