Mid-degree burnout?

Jasmineflower

I love my program and am very happy with the choice to attend my institution, but as a mid-program PhD student I'm starting to feel some burnout.  I don't know why, but simply coming to campus causes me to feel stressed.  And even though I love teaching and am committed to doing a good job at it, I'm burned out on that too.  Most of the undergrads I've worked with have been great, but for some reason I can't stop focusing on the lazy, entitled, obnoxious ones these days.  Anyone have any advice for dealing with burnout?  I can't take time off, so I really need to figure out how to get over these negative feelings.  :(

If you can't take a short amount of time completely off, would it be possible to reduce your workload slightly in order to take on something that currently interests/motivates you? Even just a few hours per week doing something you really enjoy could help. Near the end of my second year as a graduate student, I picked up a new sport/hobby and while it took about 8 hrs/week to do, I found that it made a good difference in my outlook and my remaining hours per week were more productive and enjoyable. Just an idea! It doesn't have to be a sport or hobby of course, it could be anything that you are interested in--student government? outreach? volunteering? more sleep? etc.