Masters in Communications Design in NYC

MHDG

Hello all,

This is my first post. I work in finance right now (6 years) and want to transition into the design field to pursue a career in communications design and/or design research. While I have a lot of the business/management/communcations skills, I don't have refreshed technical skills (in Photoshop, Illustrator, etc.) I have to stay in New York and have been exploring some Master degree programs. Here is what I have found to date:

NYU-Tisch: Interactive Telecommunications Program (MPS degree)

NYU-School of Continuing Education: Graphic Communications Management and Technology (MA degree)

Pratt: Communications Design (MS degree)

Which do you think would be the best program for me, given my background and what I want to do? I'm looking for a school and program that is reputable, has good resources (especially in career services when it comes to finding internships and a full time job at the end) and a reputable and involved faculty.

I don't know any people in the industry, and while I've met with all the schools, I would really like an unbiased opinion. If there any other programs in NYC that I should be looking at, please let me know. Thanks in advance!

• 3 months later...

I think many would agree that Pratt has the best Communication Design MFA in the city. ITP at Tisch is a completely different animal (and to me more interesting); it's not "Communication Design", though of course it is both communication and design. Depending on your timeframe for applying, I'd say get to their winter show this year - you can get a good idea of the types of things they do (it's also free and loads of fun). Anyway, you could do worse... I have several friends who went to ITP and Pratt and they're all doing well!

Oddly, there aren't that many CD/GD MFA programs to be found in New York... SVA has some interesting new programs popping up lately (interactive, branding, etc.), I'd at least give them a look.