Guys help me decide! Urgent!

widefellow

Hi guys,

I have narrowed down my options and I would like to hear what you guys have to say.

NYU Draper Interdisciplinary master's program in Humanities and Social Though VS The New School Sociology MA

1. I am an international student, and got my BA in english. My potential subfield is Gender/Sexuality/Deviance.

2. Neither of them provides funding. And they cost pretty much the same.

3. NYU requires a MA thesis while NewSchool only has a final written examination.

4. A prof from Duke told me that Newschool has fabulous profs but MA students seldom get paid attention to.

5. Another prof told me both interdis and dis programs can be good for me to get into a good Phd program.

I am not from the US and didnt know much about american grad schools. Can u guys help me decide which school is better for me? My goal is to get into Top ranked Phd programs in Sociology, Anthro(maybe?), Gender Studies with full funding in two years.

Thanks you guys for helping me out!

Widefellow

I haven't heard great things about the Draper program. My impression is that it's basically a money-maker for the university, where students pay a lot of money to get a degree of questionable use. If cost is a factor here, then remember that living in NYC is going to cost you much, much more than living pretty much anywhere else, as even NYU's student housing is no bargain.

Weren't you considering the UChicago MAPSS program as well? It seems like the best option if your goal is to get into a good social science program.

If you're intent on picking NYU or the New School, I suppose NYU has more "big name" professors that might be helpful when applying to PhD programs. But no matter where you go, MA students will likely feel like they get less attention than PhD students. Plan on being a little assertive in order to get the attention you need.

Good luck. Seems like a tough decision.