20th-21st Century Poetry Programs

My first post on gradcafe!! I just started gathering all of my materials for Fall 2015 season of applications - I have three professors to write me what I feel will be strong recommendations, scheduled to take the GRE in May, had a 3.72 cGPA and 3.85 major GPA (English Lit, politics minor...I was a confused freshman). I went to what I consider to be a top tier public university and had professors that made me change my mind from wanting to go to law school (thank god I decided not to do that) to wanting to pursue further education in literature.

I wrote my honors thesis on Sylvia Plath (love it or hate it), motherhood, Eden myth, to put it very shortly. I am very interested in mid-late 20th century and contemporary poetry, with particular emphasis on women's studies. Does anyone out there know any graduate programs that might fit both my interests and qualifications? I am looking primarily into PhD programs, but will probably end up applying to 2 or 3 MA programs as well.

Thank you!

Edited by emily.rose

Thank you thank you! This site has both motivated and terrified me...everyone seems so accomplished and focused! I'm working a full time job right now, but just graduated in May, so still pretty green to the whole process.

I cannot speak to exactly what appeals to you, so you should look more closely at faculty but: If you are interested in 20th century American poetry, places like UPenn, Columbia, Cornell, WashU, Northwestern, Berkeley, UCLA, Penn State, U Chicago, UVA, and possibly Vandy depending on if you want to work in AF AM lit. Buffalo and Maryland arn't bad either. Duke is great for 20th century lit but poetry is not a focus there. Maybe someone else could help you fill in the blanks farther down yr list.