shall I email professors while waiting for decisions

Jingying

Hi all,

I have finished all of my applications to sociology PhD but haven't got any notice yet. I didn't contact a professor till now....But one of my current professors as well as some other students (I am now in a master's program of social policy now) highly advice me to try to contact some professors that I mentioned on SOP, potentially to express my interest in working with them.

I have viewed the previous discussions of whether or not to contact professors, but still not sure whether it is a good time to do so now. Will they think "If you are really interested in my research, why don't you contact me earlier?" or its just doesn't matter when you talk with them as long as you two are really good match? I am an international student, and kind of unsure about how Amerian people will look at this. Because it seems to me, a Chinese, that it is a sentative time and case. And if the professor that I emailed is in the committee, which I don't know, will this be considered a waste of his time/ affensive/ somthing unfair for other applicants/ or simply unwelcome because he at least already have the whole of your application package there, what else do you have to show?? And if the professor is not in the committee, is it really going to help, especially considering the fact that he may have been overwhelmed by emails of applicants? And will emailing professors in some case negatively affecting the chance?

I have been struggled about this for really a couple of days.... And I kind of feel like it's something that could cause unfairness of the process... But I am really not sure how professors in the US see it.  I really need your answers to help me out !

A lot lot of thanks!

JH

I will apply next year. Here is my opinion: