PhD without an MPH?

mojodreams

Hello All,

I have applied to both masters and PhD programs (more masters than PhD). How hard is it to get into PhD programs without a masters straight from undergrad??

I have a lot of research experience.

I have 4 papers (3 first author and one second author that is under review. The other 3 are still in prep). I participated in a National Science Foundation summer research program. I have 13 posters (most first author; regional, national, and international). I founded a peer mentor program on campus, have leadership experience, and did AmeriCorps before college. I also worked in the psychology clinic scheduling neuropsych assessments for 2 years.

Anyways, I think I would be competitive for a clinical psych program, but I am unsure about public health because they seem to value different things. I really have given up hope with these phd programs.

Will you please share your insight regarding this? Do you know anyone in a PhD program straight from undergrad? Also, I applied to Columbia and Johns Hopkins. They are really good and I am sure super competitive, but they are the only places with my research interests (mental health and stigma).

Have you heard anything yet about interview offers from the places you applied to PhD programs?

I thought about applying for PhD programs, but in speaking with schools and looking at their pre-requistities, most seemed to require a master's to even apply. However, I wish I had done what you did and just applied anyway - worst that happened was a rejection but acceptance to a master's program. Worst case scenario, you rock a MPH and then apply again to PhD programs.