BA Psych --> PhD Bio advice?

asdkghjkl0

If this is a bit long, I apologize, but I think some context may be useful here.

I graduated a few years ago with a BA in psychology with very few science and upper-level math classes. I took a few neuroscience courses and a graduate psychopharm class, worked for a year and a half in a cognitive psych lab and gained experience with fMRI and facial electromyography. I wrote an honors thesis on a widely studied visual cognition phenomenon and graduated with research honors. I should’ve gone the BS route and taken at least chem/bio/calc etc. … but I didn’t.

The science and math deficits on my transcript upset me for a long time, but I finally decided the only way to change it was to stop being angry and take more courses. I’m currently enrolled in a coursera genetics course and I’m signed up for a systems bio class when genetics ends. I’m also investigating taking calculus at a local university for credit, and possibly bio and chem as they fit into my schedule (I work full-time).

I’m planning to apply to PhD programs this fall, and I want to apply to biosciences programs. I’ll probably apply to some neuroscience programs, but I’d really like to get into a biology department and do work on population genetics. (This isn’t because I’m taking the genetics class now — I took the class because it’s interested me since high school bio.)

If I take extra courses on my own time, some via coursera/udacity and others through a local university, will this begin to mitigate the deficits on my transcript? I know online/coursera courses won't count "officially" but I want the knowledge, and I also want to demonstrate to admissions committees that I'm disciplined and motivated. This is something I really want.