Working and class schedules

hedong123

Hello everyone,

I applied to Georgetown SFS and SAIS and am very hopeful that I get accepted to at least one of these programs.  Currently I work about 45 minutes away from downtown DC.  My job is not related to international affairs and I'm anxious to move on (I just took it to save some money while I wait to get into grad school).

My boss approached me recently and offered to let me work 1-3 days per week while I attend grad school.  The terms would be very flexible but I would just have to be available from 9-5 on days that I agree to work.  It pays very well.

Because the money would really come in handy, I'd like to work about two days a week.  My concern is that the job isn't related to my ultimate career goals.  Would this affect my options when I graduate?  I have about five years experience living, teaching and studying abroad.  So I already have plenty of international experience.

Also, Is it generally possible to schedule all of my classes on two or three days of the week, leaving the other couple of days open for a part-time job? 

Thanks!

Let's preface this reply with something about counting your chickens before they hatch. Hopefully you'll get into Georgetown or JHU and then you won't have to worry.

I'm most interested in knowing what you are going to be focusing on for your degree, and if you have direct experience in that. Your experience working and living abroad is certainly helpful in a lot of situations, but it's probably not a substitute for direct job experience in foreign policy and international affairs. Keeping your current job may not hurt your prospects, but I think it can hardly help if it's not going to grow your network in your future career or give you relevant experience (to an IR job).