Philosophy of Ed?

serotoninronin

Cool man. Applied to Harvard, Penn, Pittsburgh, Illinois, Colorado, and Michigan. So far no gos on Michigan and Pitt explicitly and Harvard presumed. I have literally no K-12 teaching experience and my background is entirely in philosophy, both undergrad and MA, so whatever. What are you interested in specifically?

I'm interested in Education in Sub-Saharan Africa, specifically in Zambia and bordering countries. Want to analyze how colonialism and international efforts have contributed to the institution of education there. Education programs can be very policy orientated, so I'm also looking for some historical or philosophical component to my work, and to situate it more in the context of postcolonialism.

What aspect of Philosophy of Ed are you interested in? I'm also applying to some of these schools (though Michigan State). From my experience, many PhD students have tertiary teaching experience (no classroom teaching in public schools) or even none at all. Most programs, hopefully, have realized there's a vast difference between teaching and research about education.

That's great. Yea I worry about the seemingly myopic policy focus myself quite a bit.

I'm mainly interested in civic ed, the history of educational philosophy (Plato, the Sophists, and Rousseau, mainly), and anarchist education. I have some interest in moral and religious ed too.