Extenuating circumstances- applying for Masters with a low GPA

econaut89

Hi guys,

This is my first time posting in a forum, so apologies in advance for not following any form of forum etiquette.

I have a Bachelor's Degree with a double major in Economics and Political Science from the University of Toronto (Class of 2014). I had applied as an international student from Dubai. I'm currently in the midst of job applications, but plan on applying for a Masters in Economics program within a couple of years.

Here's the catch- my GPA is 2.36 on a 4.0 scale. I have been monitoring other forum threads and am aware that this lowers my grad school prospects to almost zero.

However, I wasn't well during my undergraduate education. After completing my first year, I was diagnosed with a major illness. Because of this, I had to take a year off university for treatment and supervision of my medication's side effects. Furthermore, the medication (to be used for five years) was a severe drain on my financial resources, so I had to face the possibility of quitting my undergrad at the drop of a hat.

The extreme side effects and anxiety placed a severe strain on my physical and mental health. However, I endeavored to complete my courses to the best of my abilities. My treatment is now complete and I do not need to take the medication anymore.

This thread isn't meant to be a pity-fest, so here are the extracurriculars I was active in. I served as a delegate for Economics and International Relations based conferences held at Harvard and UCL. Over the summer, I have done finance internships in respectable organizations. Furthermore, I was involved with the Model UN scene in the university.

How much of a chance do I have at a Masters in Economics (or MBA as an alternative) in reputable universities in the UK and US? I am currently in talks with a boutique investment bank for acquiring either a research or front-office based role, and plan on doing my GRE soon as well.