Should I just give up?

combustiblecake

Hi guys, I’m new at this, so please have mercy on me...

I started my undergraduate degree in Psychology without really knowing what I wanted to do with it (I also had some problems when I started and really low self esteem). I lost a lot of motivation for school. Eventually, I pulled myself together (with therapy) and was able to get better grades - but I think I may have been too late for this. I did terrible before and I only have one year to fix it:

Overall GPA: 3.4 (there is an upward trends in my grades)

Psych GPA: 2.7 (I’m pretty much dead here)

GRE: (yet to be taken)

I have research experience from since I started my undergraduate schooling and during Fall’14/ SPr ’15 I will be working on a project to write and present research. I also have tons of outside experience related to teaching and working with children. Tons of it. I’m also multilingual, a minority (latina) and minority education/motivation concerns me a lot. Before graduate school, I intend to join TAPIF and teach in France for a while and experience something different.

I’ve thought of a career possibility in School Psychology (for an M.Ed) but now I feel hopeless for anything Psychology-related really.

Should I just quit Psychology and go for another plan?

Can you retake any of the classes that you didn't do well in? It might be worth it to take a full load over the summer or graduate later to change those grades/take extra psych classes.

Many of the school psych programs have a minimum GPA of about 3.3. Some of those are psych GPA, some are cumulative, some are last 60 units. Have you calculated what the highest GPA could be if you ace your remaining classes?

I recommend trying to retake classes, then taking more psych classes. I definitely recommend a gap year because it makes grad apps easier/less stressful.