Another GRE question post (Sorry in advance!)

Seattlestudent

Hello folks,

Long story short: I've taken the GRE twice and both times did not get great scores:

1st time: 157 Verbal, 140Q, 4.5 Writing

2nd time: 154 Verbal, 144 Q, 5.3 Writing

I did running start so I have 2 college GPAs (3.78 running start/3.96 undergrad), I have 1 published research article in a sociolegal journal (primary author), presented at several academic conferences, and I can get strong LORs.

so I'm in a bit of a bind because I dont know if I should retake the GRE again (not sure if I can bring up my scores since I studied for them in the past when I took my exams), I know we have the option of only sending recent scores to schools but I still dont know if I should bother applying to any programs.

I want to study religion and politics and do comparative work. 

Any suggestions of a) whether I should retake my GRE's/apply and B) programs I should look into?

Thank you!!!

That's easy, man. No. Do not re-take it. Your scores are fine in all aspects. What you should do is narrow what about religion and politics you like and find the professor that does it. Then, read as much as you can of his/her research, e-mail them and express interest. Spark a nice dialogue in e-mail and maybe even ask to give him/her a ring - I did that, and it went great (but make sure you have read his/her stuff). Build the qualitative aspect of your application. Visit the school, the POI, contact faculty. Your GRE will play little into the application process if you go out of your way to let them know you want to be there. Trust me.

All I know is that UWashington has a nice comparative Religion and Politics program. But, you probably know that since you're in Seattle.

Good Luck! And don't be scared to contact them! You must do this.

Edited by DigDeep