Graduate Program Doubts

students

I am a second semester graduate student in a Human Factors Psychology program. This is currently my second semester within the program, and I am having serious doubts on a daily basis. I constantly feel as though I should not be in the current program that I am in and that I have no interest conducting experimental research with any of the faculty within the department; the original faculty member that I intended to work with is no longer at the university. I'm currently in a different faculty member's lab, where I am finding it incredibly difficult to become motivated in the work.

My current semester consist of three main courses (engineering psychology, biomechanics and ergonomics, and advanced statistics), TA-ing for two courses (psychology of women and interpersonal conflict), and working along side the aforementioned professor. The courses are 3 credit hours and the research is 1 credit hour (however, the faculty member seems to think that I should be working at least 9 hours per week for this 1 credit hour). I am finding it more and more difficult to find interest in what I'm doing, and I constantly feel as though my lack of interest is, in part, due to the fact that I picked a program that is (now) of little interest to me (at this point in my life). Eventually, I want to teach at either (or both) the university/college and/or high school level, with an intent in getting into educational policy.

I am aware of the fact that it is possible to teach Psychology at a college with a master's degree. I'm having a problem deciding whether I should just suck it up for the next 3 semesters to complete this master's degree, or if I should transfer/re-apply to a different program elsewhere (such as, educational psychology).