Male SLP Graduate Students

Hi, I am currently and Undergrad at UMass pursuing my bachelors degree in communication disorders and then hopefully onto my masters in SLP. I am only a sophomore and simply curious, I was wondering if males are at any advantage of getting accepted into graduate school. I have pretty good grades so far but I have heard rumors. If you are a male who has been admitted could you comment on this? Any comments are welcome. Thanks!

Hello,

I'm a male applying to grad schools this year. I don't know if my gender has had anything to do with my 1 acceptance and 1 waitlist so far, but I think it's important to strive to be the most competetive applicant that you can be. After all, I think it's better to be admitted because you're good enough to be in a program than it is to be admitted because a school needs to meet a diversity quota. So keep your grades up and try to get to know some professors who can give you great LORs. :)

That being said, I know that some schools do want more guys. I've heard that un-ranked waitlists are often un-ranked because the admissions committee wants to be able to replace the applicant who declined their offer of admission with someone who is similar regarding diversity and background. So if they need a certain number of guys, and you're a guy on the waitlist, you're more likely to be accepted if another guy drops. But if a Spanish-speaking applicant drops, they'll try to find a bilingual replacement, etc.

I wouldn't count on your gender being an advantage. Best of luck with the rest of your undergrad, and grad school afterwards!