Should I Even Wait? CS PhD USC vs. UCSD

PhDerp

The program at USC is an amazing fit for me! They have arguably the third best NLP research in the world (according to Microsoft Academic Search), are ranked 15th in AI by USNews, have many professors in NLP and at least one in speech processing (who will be my initial advisor), have novel methods of imaging speech production in that professor's lab (critical for my dream research project), accepted me pretty early in the process with an initial 2-year fellowship (so I can work with whoever I want to, as long as they want to work with me!), and my brother hates the school, so the running joke is pretty great. :P

[Take this all with a grain of salt: I've never done research before, and I'm easily excitable. I'm sure I'd think any program that accepted me is an amazing fit for me!!]

I'm also waiting to hear back from UCSD. I'm sure I'm not invited to their visit day since it's later this week. I'm clearly not a high-up choice for them... Though this may be because I applied under a professor who was still getting back from sabbatical. Anyway, the research I'd like to do at UCSD isn't really supported by their CS department, rather their biomedical engineering department (which I ironically found out during the USC visit day). The POIs I contacted were kinda just the people I thought to be most interdisciplinary. Still, for all I know, someone's going to contact me to work on the exact project I'm interested in any minute now! That's why I'm considering waiting to hear back from them.

I didn't really understand this whole application process until recently. (I only know anything about it now thanks to this website!) My applications were so mixed-up... I didn't really think about POIs or research labs, I just looked up interdisciplinary researchers who sounded interesting, even if they had nothing to do with my actual research interests. Computational neuroscience? Check! Language processing? Check! Let's apply here.