How likely is it that research can be done in two years?

impatientWaiting

I'm trying to make the decision between a "courses-only" (10 classes) and a research (6 classes + research) path for my masters degree. I would love to do research as I enjoy that more than taking courses, but my concern is that I wouldn't be able to finish my research in the two years it would take to finish the course work. My scholarship will only sponsor me if I am a full time student taking courses towards completion of my degree, which definitely won't go past the two years.

It was suggested to me to find a lab to work in on the side, not as something towards my degree, but I'm assuming that wouldn't work out since the positions will probably be saved for people that need it for their degree.

Any relative experiences or advice?

I'm trying to make the decision between a "courses-only" (10 classes) and a research (6 classes + research) path for my masters degree. I would love to do research as I enjoy that more than taking courses, but my concern is that I wouldn't be able to finish my research in the two years it would take to finish the course work. My scholarship will only sponsor me if I am a full time student taking courses towards completion of my degree, which definitely won't go past the two years.

It was suggested to me to find a lab to work in on the side, not as something towards my degree, but I'm assuming that wouldn't work out since the positions will probably be saved for people that need it for their degree.

Any relative experiences or advice?