Leaving job & pausing career to attend MPA program

Unsure14

Hi everyone. To give some background I decided to apply on a whim to Maxwell at Syracuse for their MPA program and surprisingly got in with funding (half). I have always wanted to go to grad school, but I'm struggling with it now that the opportunity has presented itself. I currently work in the economic development field as the communications assistant at a non-profit that focuses on economic development. I sincerely love my job, however I'm certainly not making a killing (I make less than $50k). With this being said, I have concerns that my background (I have a BA in integrated marketing communications) will stunt my growth potential if I want to stay in the public sector world (ie I will forever be a communications assistant and never will become a Director). Has anyone else has the experience of leaving a job they love to pursue an MPA? And if so was it with it? I'm terrified that I'm going to leave my job only to end up back in the unemployed frenzy to find a new job after graduating. Im also considering proposing an educational leave of absence to my boss, but who knows how well that will go over..

Any thoughts on this are welcome and appreciated. Thanks!

Wow...I am actually in the same situation, although I am def attending. I also surprisingly received $$. My advice is think very carefully about what you REALLY want to do before pursuing grad school, and if you can get to where you need to get to without going for the MPA. My take is that I think it's worth it at top tier schools, and Maxwell seems to fall in there, so I don't think there is that big of a risk, especially if you're making less than 50k a year. I do think for what you want to do (stay in the public sector) an MPA with your work experience would be a great asset...good luck