Cornell M Eng or Georgia Tech MS CS: Computer Science

kcyc

Hi, I am very happy for my choices, never thought i would get in! My undergrad degree was in Bio, so getting into good CS programs was quite unimaginable for me 2 months ago.

But now I must decide to go to Cornell or Georgia Tech for master's.

Georgia Tech is stronger in engineering across the board, while GT and Cornell are equally excellent in CS and Computer Engineering.

Cornell would take 1 year to complete, at a faster pace of 5 classes (15 credits) per semester, while GT takes 1.5-2 years to complete, at slower pace of 4 classes (12 credits) per semester.

GT has a thesis option, while Cornell doesn't (has only a project option). Although I want to go into industry right after graduation, so not sure if doing a thesis matters.

Cornell is also very cold, and I have no experience handling snow. Ithaca also seems isolated, but if recruiters come to the campus anyway, it should be fine. However, Cornell has better programs overall in business, law, medicine, etc. which I think would be neat to get to know/network with other students in those fields. Also Cornell just finished building a new Gates Hall for CS and info science departments this year, and Bill Gates will come for the building for dedication.

GT is located in the big city Atlanta and is warm. However, GT is only strong in business and engineering, so I feel the overall GT experience may not be as interesting or enriching as a Cornell education. Although would that matter if I'm set on studying engineering.

Research dollars:

Georgia Tech: $225,000,000, 256 master CS students

Cornell:           $132,000,000, 100 master CS students

so per capita research dollar spent is about the same.

Tuition:

Cornell 47k for 1 year, and it takes 1 year to complete 30 credits to graduate.

Georgia Tech 45k for 1.5 year, and it takes 1.5-2 years to complete 36 credits to graduate.