One Day Left, Would You Please Critique My SOP?

Dear all,

I'm an international student wishing to apply for Master of Biotechnology in the US for Fall 2014 to study synthetic biology. The prompt said something like this:

"Briefly describe your career goals and the role our program will play in helping you achieve those goals."

The admission staff suggest me to write no more than 700 words. However, I'm switching my interest so I feel the need to describe my background and how I come to this new interest. I should also explain my bad grades during my sophomore since no other place to do it. Here's my draft.

Growing up in the rural town of [XXX], truly nurtured my fascination for nature and my interest in biology. Tinkering with flowers and collecting insects' specimen from lush farms surrounding my house have taught me the power of keen observation and analysis, which was the beginning of my scientific life. During high school, I brought along these childhood experiences to excel in science subjects that eventually culminated in me representing my country in [XXX], awarded with Silver Medal in 200[X]. It was during the [XXX] training I learned about molecular biology and biotechnology, knowing that organisms could be genetically engineered for useful purposes. Since that moment, I decided I want to study biotechnology and pursue my career in this field.