PhD in Life Science: Utah vs Purdue

lolololo55

Hi all, 

I am an international student and have two offers for a PhD in Life Sciences in the US. I do not have many criteria to decide as I have never been to any of those places. I need to make a decision this week and have no clue on what I am going to do. 

1. Molecular Biology program at the University of Utah

- $26,000/year + $1,000 starting allocation + 100% health insurance + no fees

- 4 rotations

- 120 faculty in 6 departments 

- Salt Lake City is perfect for skiing, hiking and other outdoor activities. 

- Well-organized housing by the university. It seems easy to find a place to stay. 

- Housing around $500

2. Purdue University Life Science program

- $24,000/year + 80 % health insurance (I'd have to pay visa and semester fees as well). 

- 4 rotations

-170 faculty in 27 departments (many areas of interests)

- Lafayette is a small city with a lot of students and really close to Chicago (useful to fly back home).

- Housing around $500

While Purdue seems (I don't really know) better in terms of research, UofU offers me a larger stipend and they have been much more helpful so far. Any suggestion? Does anyone know something about these universities? 

Thank you :)

Purdue has a far better reputation (generally speaking) and geographically/culturally speaking may be less of a culture shock for an international student! Anyway, the stipends are so similar - especially with West Lafayette's low cost of living - that I would say the research benefits should outweigh the money for sure! Hopefully this doesn't offend anyone, but Utah (as a state) is kind of in the middle of nowhere, and while West Lafayette isn't exactly an ideal location (it's cute, but not 'near' much) you can drive to Indianapolis in 1 hour and Chicago in under 3.

So... I vote for Purdue!