MA at NYU vs. PhD at SUNY-Buffalo

melonseller

I am an international applicant. I completed MA in English in Taiwan, with special interest in Irish Literature.

My only two offers are MA program in Irish and Irish-American Studies at NYU, and PhD program in English at SUNY-Buffalo. And I am torn.

I already had a MA degree, so it seems reasonable to choose SUNY-Buffalo over NYU, but there is absolutely no funding from Bafflo. And I had only enough personal funding to support myself for two years, which would cover MA study but not PhD study.

Both institutions are good fit (NYU is extremely good fit). NYU is such a reputable institution, if I were to take their offer, my goal is to make myself a stronger applicant for the PhD program and scholarship when I completed my degree there. So my concern is whether or not I should spend another year and a half doing second MA. Please advise!

MA in Irish and Irish-American Studies at NYU

pros: very good fit. very reputable institution. possibility to make myself a stronger applicant next year for PhD program. I have enough personal funding for MA study

cons: I already got a MA. I have to go through the excruciating PhD application again, and god knows how it would turn out.

PhD in Enligh at SUNY-Buffalo

pros: good fit. it's a phd program. phd student might have better chance to get funding than MA students.

cons: not enough funding. not as reputable as NYU (am I being snobbish?)

I appreciate any advice : )

Don't do a PhD without funding.  So I think you should turn down the Buffalo offer altogether.

But if you already have an MA in English with a focus on Irish literature, why earn another one?  Unless you think you'll be unable to get in anywhere next year without another MA, I would decline both and just try again next year.

Thanks for your advice : )