2 Research Projects... Great or not cool?

bsharpe269

Hi All,

I am a masters student who will be applying for phd programs this fall. I have been working with a lab since september and have been offered a summer position. I am doing a ton of work for the lab and am as involved as the phd students. I recently did a poster for a graduate symposium and plan to have a publication and national conference before appllying to phd programs. I want to stay in this same subfield for phd reserach.

So as I mentioned, I will be working in the lab this summer and hopefully will be able to get a lot further with the reserach without classes as a distraction. There is another professor on campus who I get along with well and am loving his class. I have considered volunteering on a small side project over the summer (like 10 hours a week) with this other professor in addition to my primary research (40-50 hours per week over summer). This could help with my LOR from this professor and expose me to something completely different.

So the question: Is it OK to ask my primary advisor if I can pick up a 2nd small project over the summer if it doesnt affect my work in the first lab? Is this encouraged or is it not ok?

So the question: Is it OK to ask my primary advisor if I can pick up a 2nd small project over the summer if it doesnt affect my work in the first lab? Is this encouraged or is it not ok?