Assistance needed in applying to Vanderbilt...

wannaphdnHistory

I live in Nashville and plan on applying to Vanderbilt's PhD History program this fall. I graduated in 1992 from a small liberal arts college with majors in History and English, and a minor in Political Science. I had a 3.92 cumulative GPA/ 4.0 history GPA. After college, I went to law school, and I graduated from Washington and Lee in 1996, with a 3.40 GPA. I practiced law for a while, but I did not like it. I went into teaching, high school and middle school. I am working this year in a program for at risk students. However, I want to teach history at the collegiate level. Here are a couple questions I have:

1. Does any one know what the average GRE scores are for accepted students into Vanderbilt's history program? I cannot find those anywhere on the net. I have not taken the GRE yet, but I plan to take it in July. It would be nice though to have a target to shoot for.

2. For a writing sample, I have a 10 page case summary that was published in the first edition of Washington and Lee's Race and Ethnic Ancestry Law Journal. Is that sufficient? I do not have any of my undergraduate papers or anything like that since it has been such a long period of time since I graduated.

3. Letters of recommendation may be tricky for me. I have not kept up with any of the professors at either schoool since I left, but some of the professors I worked with are still at the schools. What if they do not remember me that well? How do I approach them after so long asking them to write me a LOR? Even if they do remember me, should I get someone ( a supervisor?) to write me a LOR just so I have something more recent than 1996?

Any help that someone can give me on these issues will be greatly appreciated.

Hey WannaPhD