Need some advice

Tnashen

Hello, all. 

I need some advice.

I hold a PhD in Arabic studies in Armenia. But I don't work in that field. That makes me upset. So, I decided to do PhD in the USA. I am not sure that my Armenian degree is equivalent to the US PhD degree. And if I want to find a job somewhere out of Armenia, I should have a internationally recognized education. I am not a great English speaker, as you can see from how I write, but I am sure that I will get 105-110 TOEFL, and 315-320 GRE, quantitative 165-168, verbal 155-160, essay 4-4,5. I consider two directions for my PhD; Armenian Studies and Arabic studies. But as far as I understand Armenian Studies are not very demanded. 

I will be grateful for every information. Do I have any chances do get to a Graduate School in the USA?Which Universities will be good for me? Should I at first get an appointment with an adviser or supervisor or how it is called or it is not mandatory? 

And are there any age limits? I am 31-year-old, but I got tired of my current job and decided to change something in my life. I hope it is not too late :))

Thank you!!!

I do not understand why an Armenian Ph.D. would only be good within Armenia.  Unless there is something very shady with higher education in your country your degree should be just as good as an American Ph.D. For what it is worth the American Ph.D. is modeled after the traditional "old" European Ph.D. 

The problem that you really face is that you want to earn the same Ph.D. twice.  A good number of U.S. programs will not admit students who already possess a Ph.D., or its equivalent.  I can imagine even less wanting to admit a student who has already earned a Ph.D. in the same subject he is wanting to study in the U.S.