practice test scores improved a ton, stay that great for test day?

bsharpe269

Hi guys,

I took the GRE a few years ago, during undergrad (working on MS now) and scored decently, not awesome (157V, 161Q).

I am applying for phd programs this fall and want to retake it and improve. I took ETS powerprep 1 practice test 4 months ago and scored 154V, 163Q.

Since then I have memorized 200 common words and done around 300 of magoosh's verbal practice questions and around 200 quant questions. Today I took ETS powerprep 2 and scored 161V, 169Q.

For those of you who experienced a decent sized jump in scores from before and after studying, did the scores say high on test day?

I am taking the GRE in 6 weks and the goal I set for myself when I started studying was >160V, 165Q. I'm nervous the practice test might be too good to be true!

Thanks!

I found the ETS PowerPrep practice tests to be quite accurate compared to my real test score, so I would say study did help and you definitely improved your score a lot. It's surely not a fluke, congrats! Regarding if your performance would stay the same 6 weeks from now, I would say you need to work to keep it that way. 6 weeks can be quite a long time and you can forget a lot of things comes test time. Maybe devote at least 5 hours per week to go over the vocab, read some passages, do a few math problems, and take a practice test one in a while to keep the skills and knowledge fresh on your mind. I think since you don't need to improve your score anymore, if you do that amount of minimum maintenance, you should be good to go in 6 weeks.