What to do with a not so high GPA if I wanna pursue IE PhD after Master

illousion

Hi everyone

I am currently in first year master student in Industrial Engineering in states. I wanna apply PhD in the incoming December, but...my GPA right now is not very high, only 3.56....

I messed up some courses, does anyone know how committee evaluate GPA when it comes to PhD application? Some professor say if you don't have 3.8 or higher GPA don't even think about to get in some TOP 20 Industrial Engineering Program, so I am kinda upset after hearing this. 

This summer I will work with a faculty in my school to do a MIP related research, does this help?

And my previous GRE is not very high as well, only 145 in the verbal part and 3.0 in the analytical writing, math is 170 but I think everyone gets that score.

If anyone would like to share their experience or give me some constructive/insightful comments and suggestions I will be much appreciate it. Thank you!

I am currently working on a mixed integer programming application and heuristics, it's alo related to supply chain optimization

I am pursuing my master in Arizona State University, does it matter?

Many people will think it's easy to get 4.0 GPA but that's not true...at least not in my case. Thanks for your suggestion if you have any 

Hello,

I have the same issue. My GPA for masters is even worse (3.3, with 2 Cs). However, I would like to pursue Ph.D in MSE (2015) and  I am interested in energy and biomaterials. 

My masters is a non-thesis in Material Science&Engg. from U Arizona  and BA in Physics and Math(GPA 3.43; 1C, 1D) from a top 100 liberal arts college. 3.5 years industry experience in medical device industry. 2 publications in glass science from my undergraduate research. Good extracurricular activities--president of a non-profit.

What should I shoot for my GRE?

What are my chances in UIUC, UC-Berkeley, UCD, UCLA, UCSB, UCI?

Thanks
Biswas.