MA or straight to PhD with very little prior linguistic experience

Francophile1

Hello,

I am toying with the idea maybe to apply to a Linguistics PhD. I am now in a literature based program but I am finding more and more that I would be more interested in the language aspect of it. Please help me out here!

If I have very little experience in linguistics- my minor was in it but that was a while ago and that's it. Should I be applying to MA only programs or PhD combined programs?

Well, it really depends on the school and how well you describe your linguistic experience, and what specialty you want to go into.

If you at most have a minor but no clear idea over a specialty, then an MA is a good place. But, if you have a minor and a specialty in mind, then PhD's are not impossible, just more difficult, it will depend a lot on how you have been able to prepare yourself with your specialty. In my case, I have an English BA which involved taking 24 credits of linguistics courses and a minor in computer science, so I got accepted into a PhD program in comp ling (see how the comp minor fits in?).

Because I don't know about your case I can only say that MA seems right for you because you make yourself sound like ur still a novice in linguistics. However, if you're interested in stylistics, then you would have a gd shot at applying to stylistics-specialized programs (MA or PhD) because your BA+minor would act as a good baseline for it. I don't know of any stylistics programs in the states though since it's really concentrated in the UK