Discussing Improvements (Or lack of)

jc14

Hey guys,

I know I'm starting a thread that's been discussed before - and believe me I've read through most of them.

I'm currently studying for the GRE's - it's been about a month. I've been scoring around the 165+ range for the quantitative sections without studying - but verbal is killing me - and quite frankly, I'm getting pretty discouraged. 

Most the threads I've read have been up and down. Some people see improvements, some don't. My verbal score will range from around 150-158  - but usually right around 150. (My goal is to break 160 in verbal and score over 165 in Q). I've been memorizing a lot of vocab words from Magoosh/Manhattan - I've memorized around 500 in the past month. But it just seems pointless - so many vocab words out there - and even some of the words I know well, there's like a 9th definition that they ask you about (I know I'm exaggerating, but for those who have taken the test, you know what I mean). 

I'm basically ranting and looking for some encouragement. If  you didn't improve from studying - why not? Do you think the GRE (especially verbal) is just a tough test to study for due to the myriad of words that they use? Or you didn't study hard enough? And if you did improve - what exactly was it? Did the memorizing vocab words really help?

Also, I haven't taken an official GRE yet - this is all from the Magoosh program, which I do recommend in that it is thorough and helpful . 

Let me know what you guys think - if you feel my pain, feel free to vent. If you have words of wisdom - I'm all ears. 

Hey! I took the GRE last year and I took it twice. I also used Magoosh and supplemented it with Manhattan prep and Kaplan practice tests.