What're my chances? State school vs. private?

live215

Hello everyone! I'm not quite sure which graduate schools I should be looking into for political science. Here are a few of my "stats:"

I go to a public state school, which is ranked at about #230, but is in the 60's regionally (according to US news rankings) but is known as a broadcasting school, which is one of my majors. I have a double major in journalism and political science as well as a minor in French. I am also a member of my college's honors program which does require you to write a thesis.

I have worked at my college television station for all four years of my college education, and I've had a variety of leadership positions including news director. I was a Resident Assistant in an all freshmen building which required me to be a TA. I also have a job on campus.

By the time I graduate I will have had five internships, one at a network station in New York City.

I haven't taken my GREs, but my SATs put me in the 95% percentile for math, 84% percentile for writing, and 87% for reading.

I'm looking to end up with a 3.6 at graduation, which has qualified me for a number of honor's societies.

I'm fairly positive my recs will be great, so hopefully that helps!

I guess I'm just a little confused with how state schools measure up to Ivy leagues. So if you have any insight, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks!!

Almost universally, private universities rank higher than public state schools. However, there are plenty of exceptions. The UC system, University of Minnesota, University of Michigian, UT Austin, OSU, and University of North Carolina can all be top schools depending on interests. That being said, out of the top 20 political science Ph.D. programs, private schools dominate.